Potato Latkes - 190 Calories - Yellow Vegetable, Vegan

Cook-E      These are the absolutely best potato latkes, and they're gluten and dairy free.
Serve them with apple sauce or sour cream on the side.
This is a traditional Hanakah side dish and these will steal the show~

10 servings; for parties of 50 multiply by 6 and give yourself 4 hours


4 pounds Russet Potatoes
2 medium Onions
1 TBS Lemon Juice
1 Cup Chopped Scallions
4 Large Eggs, beaten
to taste Salt and Pepper
Grape Seed - Olive Oil Blend  


Prep: 1:30 

- Vegetable Peeler

- 2 Large Bowls

- Cutting Board

- Chef's Knife

- Brown Paper Bag

- Parchment Paper

- Food Processor or Box Grater

- Baking Sheet Pan

- Fry Pan

- Thermometer


1. Put the onion in the freezer. Peel the potatoes and keep them submerged in cold water.

2. Grate ⅔ or the potatoes on a box grater or with the grater attachment of your food processor.
Set aside in a very large bowl.

3. Chop up the remaining ½ of the potatoes and the onions with the bottom blade of your food processor, 20 pulses.

4. Place a handful of the potatoes and onions in the center of a thin cotton tea towel or 5 layers of cheese cloth and squeeze the liquid out over a bowl, I have found putting the bowl in t sink is the easiest position to give my bicepts a workout.

Repeat until all the potatoes have been squeezed. RESERVE THE LIQUID.

5. Toss the juice of one large lemon into the potatoes and onions.
Place the squeezed potato in a large bowl and cover with the wet towel you used to squeeze them.
They can be put into the refrigerator until ready to fry at this stage, leave the water bowl out.

6.Ready to fry: Pour enough oil in the pan to be 2 inches deep, a high burning point oil is best: olive oil (not extra virgin) can be combined with grape seed oil or vegetable oil in a 2-1 ratio (twice as much high burning point oil to half olive oil) to boost the temperature and maintain the olive oil flavor.

7. Add the diced scallions, the eggs, salt and pepper to the potatoes.

8.Here's the secret trick: Drain the water out of the squeezed potato liquid but scrape the potato starch that has settled on the bottom of the bowl and add that to the potatoes.

9. The can be spread out on parchment paper, placed in an airtight container and frozen to be fried later at this point.

10. When the oil has reached 325ºF you can make a huge pancake the size of the pan or put small handfuls of the potatoes into the oil. It is imperative to keep the oil hot, so the second pile of potatoes on the opposite side of the pan in a minute, then add the third 2 minutes later, flip them over when golden, then add a fourth and fifth little pile.

11. I look for the outside edges to get golden and the potatoes to turn grey before I flip them and I use a slotted flat round spatula to flip them.

12. Place them on brown paper bags or parchment paper laid out over sheet pans - do not over lap them.

Serve immediately or if making them hours before serving them: place them on parchment paper in a 350ºF oven to reheat them.

For parties of 50 multiply the ingredients by 6 and use 3 fry pans (electric work best) for 2 hours prep and 4 hours (doing nothing else) fry time.

• Mold: 45 Minutes
• Fry: 45 Minutes

(10 servings)


      Gluten Free Alcoholic Beverages


Distilling may eliminate unacceptable levels of gluten from wheat, rye 
and barley based alcohol.
Here's a list to help decide what is right for you.


Wine made from grapes is naturally gluten free. Although, in some manufacturing processes (mainly European wines) gluten may be used as a fining agent to clarify the wine or in a wheat paste used to seal the aging barrels. These do add trace levels of gluten to the finished bottles. Almost all wines manufactured in the US do not use these methods, so you can be more confident in enjoying your glass of wine.

Fortified wines like marsala, vermouth, port and sherry are distilled from wine and are gluten free. However a few varieties may have added colorings or flavorings which could contain gluten.

Rice wine and sake are both made from fermented rice. However, some brands do add malt (gluten) to their mixtures, so be sure to check the label.

Traditionally Vodka it is made from wheat, barley and rye. However there are more and more varieties on the market made from non-grain ingredients like:
•    Blue Ice (potato)
•    Bombora (grape)
•    Boyd & Blair (potato)
•    Cayman Blue (sugar cane)
•    Krome (corn)
•    Smirnoff (corn)

Gin is made from a combination of grains (barley, corn, rye), which has been infused with juniper berries and spices. For some alternatives:
 Maine Distilleries' Cold River Gin - made from potatoes,    
  G-Vine Gin is made from grapes.


Liqueur falls into one of these four categories: *Dairy liqueurs (eg. Bailey’s Irish Cream, bean or kernel liqueurs (eg. Amaretto), herb liqueurs (eg. Crème de Menthe) and fruit liqueurs (eg. Grand Marnier).


Whiskey is almost always made from barley. However Queen Jennie Whiskey is made entirely from sorghum.


Is a blend of corn, wheat, barley and rye. NO gluten free that I know of.


Rum is distilled from sugar cane, and brandy is distilled from wine, both are gluten free. Flavored varieties may be an exception to the rule, so be sure to check with the manufacturer if you are unsure.


"100% agave" is gluten-free. If it is called ‘mixto’ and contains added sugar it might contain gluten (due to cross contamination).

Preservative and dye-free Wines


Cider is made from fruit juice, mainly from apples, and is gluten free, although (as always) some brands may use barley in its production, so you will need to check the labels to be sure.


Mixed drinks can contain barely malt, and are therefore not gluten free, like Bartles & Jaymes and Smirnoff Ice. The majority of wine coolers are gluten free, so you should have a lot of options to choose from.

Mike's Hard Lemonade is a considered to be a bit controversial as it does contain malt. However, according to their proprietary filtration process (similar to distillation), the gluten is removed leaving less the 5ppm in the finished product (which is well below the US government’s threshold of 20ppm to be classified gluten-free).

Beer is usually made from Hops
Hops are wheat and contain gluten.

This is a list of Gluten Free Beers:
  • Redbridge is brewed from sorghum and is sold at many local stores and restaurants. Manufactured by Anheuser-Busch, Inc., the company that produces Budweiser, it’s a light amber beer with a slightly sweet taste.
  • Daura
  • Honey Beer-Kosher
  • G-Free
  • Green’s Gluten Free Beers undefined this  U.K. company makes Belgian style Vegan, Gluten Free beer from millet, buckwheat, sorghum, and rice. Green’s makes several varieties of G-Free beer, and has become a favorite of Gluten Free beer aficionados.
  • New Grist Beer is a lager beer, and at the moment, is our Founder’s favorite Gluten Free beer, made by Lakefront Brewery in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. New Grist is made with sorghum, hops, gluten-free yeast grown on molasses, and rice.
  • Nick Stafford’s Hambleton Ales makes a Gluten Free ale called GFA created with Cascade, Liberty and Challenger hops and specially prepared dark sugars.
  • Ramapo Valley Brewery makes a Gluten Free Passover Honey Beer brewed from honey and flavored with molasses. Ramapo is Kosher certified, and this Honey Beer provides a unique flavor & option for those on a Kosher Gluten Free diet.
  • Microbrasserie Nouvelle France makes several well-received Gluten Free beers called Messagère in Canada.  They are beginning to venture into the United States.
  • Steadfast Ale
  • The Glutenator
  • T'Weason Ale
    • The Alchemist: Celia Saison
    • Greens - Dark Ale
    • Sprecher Brewing Co. - Shakpro Ale
    • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales - Tweason'ale
    • Harvester Fresh Hop IPA
    • Epic Brewing Company - Glutenator
    • New Planet Gluten Free Beer - Raspberry Ale
    • New Planet, Tread Lightly Ale
    • Lakefront Brewery: New Grist
    • Fox Tail Gluten Free Ale
    • Green’s Tripel Blonde Ale
© good2eat4U
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software