Items not labeled 'dairy free' made with almond, hemp, rice or soy milk as listed on the 'good2buy lists' are fine.  Gluten-free items may not be labeled as such but include no gluten flours but are  made with chickpea,  corn, rice, fava bean, soy or other gluten-free grain found on the 'good2buy' lists on our home page.

Read labels carefully Gluten is a hidden element in many packaged foods, including sandwich meat. Gluten is used in processing turkeys to make them plumper. Gluten is used in popsicles, which is an added consideration for those avoiding ice cream (dairy).

AVOID all packaged foods containing the following names for gluten in their ingredient list: 

  • modified food starch
  • MSG (monosodium glutamate)
  • lecithins
  • textured vegetable protein (veggie burgers, meat replacements, etc.)
  • emulsifiers
  • soy sauce (look for wheat-free tamari, organic gluten free tamari is what we use in our recipes)
Print

Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  •  Barley 
  •  Bulgur
  •  Durum flour
  •  Farina
  •  Graham flour
  •  Kamut
  •  Malt 
  •  Malt flavoring
  •  Malt vinegar
  •  Milk or milk solids
  •  Rye
  •  Spelt
  •  Wheat
  Avoid all of the following commercially produced foods unless labeled Gluten Free and/or Dairy Free:
      •  Beer * see list of gluten free beers under good2buy4U
  • Imitation Bacon
  • Bread
  • Breading and Coating Mixes
  • Brown Rice Syrup
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cheese
  • Chocolate (milk chocolate contains dairy)
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Cool Whip
  • Communion wafers
  • Cous Cous
  • Creamers (Coffee Mate)
  • Croutons
  • Energy Bars
  • Flour products
  • Flour tortillas
  • French fries
  • Canned or powdered Gravies
  • Drugs and over-the-counter medications
  • Herbal supplements
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Lunch Meat that has been processed
  • Marinades
  • Matzo
  • Non-dairy items that include milk solids
  • Nutritional supplements
  • Panko Bread Crumbs
  • Pastas
  • Play-dough, hand to mouth transfer
  • Poultry that is self basting
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Imitation Seafood
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Skippy Peanut Butter
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Stuffings and dressings
  • Thickeners that are wheat based including Roux
  • Vegetables in sauce
  • Vitamins ¶ mineral supplements
  • Yogurt

How do I get started changing to a gluten free diet?

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/theglutenfreediet/tp/How-To-Go-Gluten-Free.htm

What is the connection to Celiac Disease and lactose intolerance?

http://celiacdisease.about.com/od/symptomsofceliacdisease/a/Lactose.htm

 
© good2eat4U
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software